nose sinus richard harvey

Welcome to ANZRS

Founded in 2003, the Australia and New Zealand Rhinologic Society have over one hundred Full, Associate & Overseas members.

Covid response:
ANZRS endorse ASOHNS guidelines regarding sinonasal procedures

Dear Member,

It is recognised that sinonasal procedures, both in-office and in-theatre, are particularly high risk to the surgeon and his or her staff. The executive of ANZRS have endorsed the recent guidelines proposed by ASOHNS and recommends all members to follow these promptly.

We ask that you all take extreme care over the coming months of this pandemic and we wish that all our members, their families, and their patients stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Professor Alkis Psaltis

Assoc. Professor Raewyn Campbell
Vice President

Assoc. Professor Joanne Rimmer

Dr Raymond Kim

The Australia and New Zealand Rhinologic Society (ANZRS) was formerly known as the Australasian Rhinologic Society and was formed to promote aspects of Rhinology for Otolaryngologists in Australia and New Zealand. In addition to holding meetings at which those interested in Rhinology can discuss clinical practice and present research papers, the Society is also committed to producing policy and guidance documents to allow ENT specialists, other medical practitioners and patients to be informed as to current best practice within the sub-speciality of rhinology.

An overall interest is taken in the development of the speciality in Australia and New Zealand, with special reference to the needs of registrars in training. The ANZRS provides a liaison with similar organisations internationally, especially thoroughout Asia and the pacific region.

In 2005, the Society hosted the International Rhinology Society meeting in Sydney and has now also hosted 8 domestic meetings in the Hunter Valley (2003), Mornington Peninsula (2004), the Barossa Valley (2006), Auckland (2008), Sydney (2010), Coolum (2012), Hawaii (2017) and Melbourne (2019). The Society also co-hosted the South Pacific ENT Forum in Fiji (2009) and in Hawaii (2013).

The inaugural President of the Society, who was instrumental in designing its constitution, was Dr Kevin Kane. Subsequent presidents have been Prof PJ Wormald (2006-10), Associate Professor Raymond Sacks (2010-13), Professor A.Simon Carney (2013- 2017) , Richard Douglas (2017 – 2021) and Richard Harvey (2021 – present)

We are committed to building relationships with Allergists, Immunologists, Paediatricians and Scientists with an interest in the field.