ANZRS Committee

We welcome our Australia and New Zealand Rhinologic Society Committee Members for 2021/22

Professor Alkis Psaltis

Professor Alkis Psaltis MBBS, Ph.D. FRACS, is the Head of Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Adelaide, Australia, and Professor of Surgery at the University of Adelaide in South Australia.

He has authored over 170 peer-reviewed journal articles and 17 book chapters. He sits on the editorial board 5 major international ENT journals; Rhinology, The International Forum of Allergy and Rhinology, The American Journal of Rhinology and Allergy, The Australian Journal of Otolaryngology, and The Annals of Otology, Rhinology, and Laryngology. He is also the academic editor of PlosONE.

He is a regular invited keynote speaker at major ENT and Rhinology conferences and has delivered more than 150 international and national presentations. He has been invited to lecture at more than 50 international skull base and sinus courses.

He has served on the board of training for ENT in South Australia and currently serves on the Board of Training for the Australian Society of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery and the Research and Scholarships Committee for the Royal Australian College of Surgeons.

Associate Professor Raewyn Campbell
Vice President

Associate Professor Raewyn Campbell currently works as a dedicated Rhinologist and Skull Base surgeon in Australia. Raewyn completed 3 international fellowships in Rhinology and Skull Base surgery in Auckland, New Zealand and Philadelphia and Columbus, USA.

Raewyn has published over 55 journal articles and book chapters and has presented at specialist conferences all over the world. She is actively involved in teaching medical students and otorhinolaryngology/ENT trainees and teaches at rhinology and skull base courses locally and internationally. Raewyn has also trained surgeons internationally and is actively involved in ongoing rhinology and skull base research. She is on the editorial boards for the Australian Journal of Otolaryngology and Rhinology (Frontiers in Allergy special edition) and is a reviewer for multiple academic journals. She is currently undertaking a PhD at The University of Sydney investigating ergonomics in endoscopic sinus and skull base surgery.

raymond kim

Dr Raymond Kim


Ray is an adult & paediatric rhinologist, who is New Zealand trained, followed by Fellowship training at Stanford University, USA.

He is a consultant surgeon at Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children’s Hospital in Auckland, New Zealand.

He is a Senior Lecturer at the University of Auckland, teaching and actively conducting research. The thesis titled, “Characterising the subepithelial mucosa in chronic rhinosinusitis: influences of microbes and immunity” awarded him Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Surgery.

Ray is a member of the American Rhinologic Society, the New Zealand Society of Otolaryngology Head & Neck Surgery, and the Australia & New Zealand Paediatric Society of Otolaryngology Head & Neck Surgery.

Associate Professor Joanne Rimmer

Associate Professor Joanne Rimmer works as a rhinologist and skull base surgeon at Monash Health and St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne, and is an Associate Professor at Monash University. She has fellowship training in rhinology, anterior skull base surgery and facial plastic surgery.

Jo has an active research interest and has published over 65 peer-reviewed articles in the scientific literature. She has also authored over 15 book chapters in her areas of expertise. She is an investigator in a number of local, national and international clinical trials in the field of rhinology. She is a regular invited speaker at national and international meetings. She supervises Victorian ENT trainees as well as teaching on rhinology and sinus surgery courses. She sits on the Editorial Boards of Rhinology Journal, the Australian Journal of Otolaryngology, and Frontiers in Allergy (Rhinitis). She is a peer-reviewer for multiple international journals.

Professor Richard Harvey
Immediate Past President

Prof. Richard J Harvey, MD PhD currently works as a dedicated rhinologist (nose, sinus, allergy and endoscopic sinus and skull base surgery) at Macquarie University and St Vincent’s Hospitals in Sydney. He is the program head of Rhinology & Skull Base Surgery at the Applied Medical Research Center of UNSW and is Professor at both the University of NSW and Macquarie University. After several years of post-training fellowships, including formal fellowships in the USA and UK, Richard practices in Sydney, Australia, as one of only a few dedicated rhinologists in the country. He has authored over 300 publications, books, book chapters and completed his PhD in trans-nasal skull base surgery.

Richard has presented over 800 lectures and talks on sino-nasal disease management. He is the current Editor-in-chief of the Australian Journal of Otolaryngology ( as well as an associate editor for the Cochrane ENT disorders group currently. Richard contributes to the editorial board for Rhinology Journal, American Journal of Rhinology & Allergy and the International Forum of Allergy and Rhinology and is actively involved in research programs in Sydney.

He is the recipient of the Australian Society of Otolaryngology Head & Neck Surgery Medal for Distinguished Contribution to the Art and Science of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery, intended to recognise members who are providing outstanding OHNS services beyond their normal practice activities. Along with training surgeons in both developed and emerging countries, Richard runs a series of courses with Sydney every year to further rhinologic education and training in Australia.

ANZRS State Representatives

Dr Daniel Timperley

Assoc Prof Larry Kalish
New South Wales

Dr Chris Brown

Dr Steve Floreani
South Australia

Dr Chris Dhepnorrarat
Western Australia

Dr Simon Robinson
New Zealand

ANZRS Constitution